Hugh Calkins, MD, FHRS — Immediate Past President (2014 - 2015)

Hugh Calkins

Dr. Hugh Calkins is Immediate Past President of the Heart Rhythm Society, Nicholas J. Fortuin M.D. Professor of Cardiology and Professor of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Calkins is also the Director of the Clinical Electrophysiology Laboratory, the Arrhythmia Service, the Atrial Fibrillation Center, and the Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular Dysplasia Program at the Johns Hopkins Hospital.

Dr. Calkins serves on the editorial boards of Circulation, HeartRhythm, the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, the Journal of Interventional Electrophysiology, and Circulation: Arrhythmia and Electrophysiology.

His research efforts are focused on atrial fibrillation, catheter ablation, syncope, and arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia. Dr. Calkins received first prize in the NASPE Young Investigator Competition in 1988, was recipient of the Helen B. Taussig Award of the American Heart Association-Maryland Affiliate in 1999, and was awarded the van Ruyven Medal by the Heart & Lung Foundation Utrecht in 2012. He has published more than 450 manuscripts and 50 book chapters and has lectured extensively throughout the world.

Dr. Calkins attended Williams College and Harvard Medical School before training in Internal Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital. He received his cardiology fellowship training at Johns Hopkins. He also trained in electrophysiology at Johns Hopkins and at the University of Michigan. Dr. Calkins’ first faculty position was at the University of Michigan, before returning to Johns Hopkins as Director of the Clinical Electrophysiology Laboratory and Arrhythmia Service in 2002. He has served in this position for more than 10 years.

Download this biography as a PDF.