IAC Cardiac Electrophysiology Accreditation

The Heart Rhythm Society, the Pediatric & Congenital Electrophysiology Society (PACES), and the Society of Invasive Cardiovascular Professionals (SICP) partnered with the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) to develop the Cardiac Electrophysiology Accreditation

This voluntary program provides accreditation in the following areas:

  • Testing and Ablation
  • Device Implantation (facilities may apply for accreditation in Device Implantation only)
  • Chronic Lead Extraction (this option is only available, in addition to Device Implantation, when also applying for Testing and Ablation)

The Cardiac Electrophysiology Standards , the secure online accreditation application, and additional useful information are now available. We hope that you and your practice will consider participating in this important initiative and demonstrate your commitment to quality patient care. If you need additional information about the program, please visit http://www.intersocietal.org/ep/ .

If you need assistance with creating your online account or for guidance in working through the application, please contact IAC at 1-800-838-2110 or email .


Subsequent to HRS's development of the 2013 guidance to the field, the HRS Board of Trustees conducted a comprehensive analysis of the accreditation market. As the leaders in heart rhythm care, they approved an initiative to develop a voluntary accreditation program that will provide a method by which facilities performing cardiac electrophysiology procedures can document their commitment to quality patient care. The Board of Trustees evaluated several options during a feasibility study and determined that IAC has the experience and reputation to facilitate the development and administration of the program.

Receive Updates:

Sign up  to receive news on the upcoming EP Lab accreditation program as details become available.